out of hibernation

Disclaimer: this is a longer blog post. I’ll try to spice it up with some funny photos and overall great content. 😉

I’ve been on an unintentional blogging hiatus. For lack of better explanation, it’s been crazy busy. And when I’ve had the time to blog, I’ve chosen to do other things. Sorry…

The blog isn’t the only thing that’s been on hiatus. For the sake of full disclosure, I have kind of come to a standstill with my weight loss. I’ve been kind of dancing around the same number (not literally dancing. Well maybe a little.). Gain 2 pounds, lose them, repeat. At least I seem to have mastered the art of weight maintenance.. Just a few months/pounds too soon.

STILL. The diet must go on. Thank you for reading. 🙂

Even though the blog was on sleep mode, I was not. I’ll call it a blog sabbatical. Blogbattical. Sabbatablog. No, those are terrible. I’ve been doing a lot of reading and research into some of the reasons why I’ve come to a standstill. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t been 100% true to counting points, measuring portions, and overall Weight Watchers/Jennifer Hudson-approved meal planning. I blame the pub down the street that has, quite literally, some of the best food I’ve ever had. 


J-Hud references and bar-food-bashing aside, even when I was in a really good dieting routine and seeing quick results, I know that I wasn’t eating my best. I lost a lot of weight very quickly. About 30 pounds in 3 months. And then nothing. What the heck.

That’s the thing with dieting. You change up your routine drastically and get your body to run on a different kind of fuel, and then it figures out “oh I get it, you aren’t eating carbs this week. Well played.” and then you have to try something new.

I was coming on “on target” for points, but not seeing those same results. Mostly because, to stay full and come in on target, I was eating a lot of processed food. A lot. Lean Cuisines. Chips/pretzels. Pasta. Low fat cheese. Diet soda. Low-cal, low-fat, quick, easy, cheap. All good things, right? Not so much.

One of the main concepts of most diets is to treat your body like a bank account. The calories/fat/carb/etc you put in has to be  less than what you take out in exercise/water/etc, in order to lose weight. Although that is true, you really have to treat your body like a vehicle. If you put bad fuel/oil/antifreeze in, your car will probably break down. Then you won’t have a car, and you’ll be walking everywhere. Which will actually result in better weight loss…

My next few blogs are going to go more in depth. Don’t worry, they’ll be shorter. I’m also very excited because I have a few guest bloggers who’ve agreed to share their unique thoughts on the subject: food. Cooking it, growing it, you name it.

Thanks for reading! More to come, soon. 🙂

Cheers,
Lesleigh

2 responses

Leave a Reply

