girl scouts: friend or foe?

It’s that time of year: Girl Scout cookies are here.

girlscout-cookies-2

Careful, don’t drop those. I could take a few off your hands…

Let me preface this by saying that I was never a Girl Scout. Even better: I was a Lutheran Girl Pioneer. Lots of similarities, but no cookies. We had very stylish brown neckerchief/scarves (uniforms) that we wore to our weekly meetings. Each caravan (troop) had 5 different levels to which you could aspire. SUNBEAMS: Kindergarten through 2nd grade. We had bright yellow scarves, and minimal responsibilities. Life was good. TRAVELERS: 3rd and 4th grade. This is where we graduated to the brown scarves, found out that there were no cookies, and I started to lose interest. Then came TRAILBLAZERS (5-6th grade), HOMESTEADERS (7-8th grade), and SPINNERS (lifers). I retired my short-lived but impressive career as a Lutheran Girl Pioneer as a Traveler, and I never looked back.

LGP1

The Sunbeams, in all their glory.

LGP2

So proud.

LGP3

Obligatory “boy haircut” photo, at some sort of Christmas/Easter fusion pageant. (??)

I see nothing wrong with Girl Scout cookies, except for my fervent suspicion that there is some sort of habit-forming ingredient in the recipe, but the nutritional information is clean. Too clean. Actually, the Girl Scouts were recently under fire for their use of trans fats and high fructose corn syrup. Personally, when you are downing Thin Mints by the sleeve, I don’t think that trans fats and high fructose corn syrup are your biggest worry; however, I would feel much less guilty knowing that those 640 calories and 32 grams of fat are comprised of the finest fats and sugars.

I’m a big fan of “everything in moderation,” so I say eat the cookies. That is, unless you don’t know how or where to draw the line. Hint: it’s before you get to the end of the sleeve of Thin Mints. In this case, it’s ok to avoid the temptation. If you still have the sweet tooth, there are ways around it. Do a recipe search for healthy imitation recipes that include the main  ingredients, so you will fulfill your craving and save yourself some calories. If that’s not an option, I hear that they are now selling Girl Scout Cookies flavored lip gloss. Sidenote: do not eat the lip gloss.

girlscoutchapstick

I didn’t actually order any cookies this year. I didn’t boycott them in the name of dieting or Lutheran Girl Pioneers, or anything — just didn’t buy any. It’s probably ok, because lately I’ve been completely stuck on this chocolate kick. And by lately, I mean the last 27.5 years. I should admit that I’ve been trying to get back on the Weight Watchers wagon (I think they have an actual wagon that rounds up lost dieters) since the holidays. My weight loss has definitely slowed. What can I say, I love to eat. And drink. And cook. See previous 6 months of blog posts for evidence.

No real ground-breaking advice or insight on the subject. I say: just eat the cookies. Your money is going toward a good cause, and if you can make a box of Caramel Delights (aka Samoas) last more than 48 hours, consider it a good day. 😉

Cheers,
Lesleigh

Leave a Reply

