The first 10

 

The day after what would have been Julia Child’s 100th birthday, I found myself in my own food revolution, of sorts.

At age 26, I was [finally] officially diagnosed with hypothyroidism:

Hypothyroidism, or underactive thyroid, develops when the thyroid gland fails to produce or secrete as much thyroxine (T4) as the body needs. Because T4 regulates such essential functions as….. long story short, out-of-whack hormones and abnormally low metabolism.

I’ve never really struggled with my weight, aside from the weird phase where everyone is just awkwardly pudgy.

I am a nurse. I am active and on my feet almost all day, so it surprised me just how much weight I was putting on (especially over the last 4 years or so). Although I’d like to, I can’t blame this solely on a bum thyroid. It has been the perfect storm of that, plus a second shift job where meals are often more than 8 hours apart, a Taco Bell 4 blocks from home (and still open on my way home from said second shift job), and living in Wisconsin, where the streets are paved with cheese, the rivers flow with beer, and almost everything is deep fried and/or on-a-stick. Tailgating is mandatory for maintaining citizenship, and finding a good happy hour with free food is state law. Not exactly the recipe for skinny jeans. (get it, recipe?)

I love food. I love to cook. I also love to not cook (go out). And really, what is better than a good beer? Benjamin Franklin said, ” Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.” I firmly believe this.

But all jokes aside, it finally got to the point where I was very unhappy with my weight and my health. I tried several approaches to diets and workout regimens, and it seemed like the more I focused and stressed, the worse I did. I’ve actually had a few women ask me if I was pregnant: The one question you never ask a woman, not until you are at the ultrasound or in the delivery room.

So finally, I decided to start 100% fresh, ignoring all stigma from past failed attempts. I joined Weight Watchers online (cue the Jennifer Hudson ballad. If you want it, ya got it, you gotta belieeeeevvvveeeee…..).

The actual in-person meetings are about double the cost, but sometimes produce better results. I think it’s because you are more publicly accountable for your progress, since you weigh in and report your weight, then have a meeting with the group to talk strategy. I am beyond busy, so I decided to go with the online plan. To make up for the accountability factor, I decided to blog about it. You will sort of keep me responsible for sticking to this, whoever you are. (thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Plus, I’ve always wanted to have a food/photos blog, so this will give me an excuse to do that, too.ย 

If you think I’m going to tell you my starting weight, you are crazy. OK, maaayybe at the end, I will actually tell you. I’ll at least keep track of progress. This first blog is called “the first 10,” as I am on my way to losing the first 10 pounds.ย And for the future, this blog will be less lengthy, a little snarky, and hopefully worth reading. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thank you for your support and encouragement.

I am you…. You are me…. believe in yourseeeelllllllffffffff

Cheers,
Lesleigh

11 responses

  1. Atta Girl! You sound thinner already. You can’t eat and blog at the same time, so make those posts as wordy as you need so you can stay occupied. Your “cheerleading team” is here to support your efforts!

  2. You rock my socckkksssss :):) Good luck!!! FYI signing up for a 5k is a sure fire way to force you to workout ha ๐Ÿ™‚ I also recommend 80s workout videos… not only will the cardio give you buns of steel and thighs that can crush watermelons, but the hilarity that is innate in those things will give you 12029112398 pack abs. rar.

  3. Yay! You don’t know me but I saw you and your hub’s band at Summerfest! You were beautiful! I just lost my first 7, and even though it’s hard, it’s so worth it to go shop for smaller clothes. I will be following your blog for inspiration and motivation. Yes, WI is paved with cheese and I can’t get away from it! Please keep the posts coming, busy girl!

    • Hi Jen! Thanks so much for reading, and for leaving such a nice note. Summerfest was a blast — thanks for coming to the show! Maybe I will meet you in the future. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck to you, and thanks again for reading!

  4. Good for you, Lesleigh. I joined WW several years ago and lost 35 pounds. Never got down to my goal weight though and had to quit because life got too busy. I started back this past Jan. and have lost 20 lbs. so far. This program works because you learn the healthy way to eat and like you said, you are accountable by weighting in each week. Having more energy is also a big plus.

    Mary

  5. Pingback: I need a name! |

Leave a comment